Untitled Short Christmas Tale About Gas Masks

We had always found Uncle Louwin to be a peculiar fellow, but the Christmas Eve he sent us all gas masks really topped it off.

I tried mine on after noting my initials were carved on the straps.  I turned to my parents as they sipped spiked eggnog and they looked like they had seen a ghost.  On the inside of the mask a handwritten message said: At the stroke of midnight on Christmas Eve, wear me.

“Take that thing off.  I don’t like it,” Uncle Moss grumbled.

“Why?” I cried.  “It’s from Uncle Louwin!”  No one knew he was secretly my favorite of the uncles.

“Because…it looks too real.  I feel like it’s angry with me.”

READ THE REST HERE

 

Leave a Reply

